執行委員會主席寄語

2020年1月

親愛的朋友、同事及持份者:

作為NISI創始行政總裁這8年,的確是一段了不起的經歷。這不僅是因為身旁總有著一群熱情且優秀的同事,共同投入大量時間,為夢想做出了犧牲和貢獻;還包括我們一路以來,同心協力所創造的成就。這段旅程充斥著艱鉅的任務,但我們已學會團結一致,共同努力實現願景,為世界帶來好的轉變。隨著我們開發能夠徹底革新醫療器械市場的突破性技術,並在工作崗位上擁抱變革,NISI現已成為一家踏入臨床階段的企業,即將對許多人的生活帶來正面的影響。我可以自豪地指出,結果說明一切,而這些非凡的成就都是屬於您們每一個人的。

回首過去
2019年是令人振奮、成果豐碩的一年,有許多重要的發表及成就。迄今為止,NISI已獲香港特別行政區創新科技署轄下的「創新及科技基金及企業支援計劃」撥款5,800萬港元,資助我們的技術研發工作。相信我們是最先獲得特區政府批出如此巨額資助款項的本地醫療器械公司之一,反映特區政府認同我們所從事的研發工作的重要性。

隨著公司產品快將踏入生產階段,我們增聘了兩名新的高級職員,包括:產品工程總監沈小棟先生(Sheldon Shen)(前美敦力員工)及銷售與市場總監Tony Pascoe(前奧林巴斯員工)。他們的專業知識,將會對我們產品投產及商業化階段起重要作用。此外,我們還加強了公司諮詢委員會的組成。其中,世界著名的計算機視覺、機器學習與機器人學專家,劍橋大學教授羅拔圖‧奇波拉教授(Prof. Roberto Cipolla),以及中國胃腸病學權威專家、我們的臨床合作夥伴,北京協和醫院消化內科主任醫師楊愛明教授(Prof. Aiming Yang),最近亦先後加入成為諮詢委員會委員。

我們很高興在2019年初取得了 ISO 13485醫療器械質量管理體系認證 ,在產品設計與生產的程序上符合法規要求;同年年底的另一個重大里程碑是,我們聯同香港大學的臨床合作夥伴,於香港瑪麗醫院完成一項新型機器人內窺鏡設備的首次人體臨床試驗。

自2019年8月起,我們採用了一個新口號 —「Go NISI and Embrace Change」。這口號體現了NISI堅定不移的創業精神,以及NISI團隊團結一致,互相激勵,擁抱變革,實現願景的共同價值觀。踏入2020年,我們將繼續沿用這個口號,因它所帶出的意義對於NISI在商業領域保持競爭力及持續創新至關重要 — 不求變革,就沒有進步。這促使我們將其中一個核心價值更新為「活力」,為我們四大核心價值的首英文字母縮寫賦予全新的意思 — EPIC,即活力(Energy)、熱情(Passion)、創新(Innovation)和承擔(Commitment)。EPIC可被用作形容重大的成就或事件。在NISI,創造卓越的信念一直推動著我們前進。只有當我們擁抱變革,迎接新挑戰,才能成就我們的夢想。EPIC核心價值正好象徵著這一點,而且在許多方面,也象徵著外科機器人技術的未來。

展望未來…
來年,NISI即將有一個很重要的任務。

在2020年,我們的機器人內窺鏡設備開發即將進入下一階段。我們會在國內多家領先的醫院,聯同知名的臨床合作夥伴進行多中心臨床試驗,在產品商業化的法規路徑上邁出一大步。這段旅途是非常令人振奮及有意義的,而途上的每一步都有賴NISI團隊大量的工作投入與承擔。

此外,我們正在研發另一個備受注目,與機器人內窺鏡設備平台有著獨特的聯繫的產品。目前,團隊正在驗證「概念驗證」原型的設計,未來將會提供進一步消息。

基於2019年11月中央政府公佈的粵港澳大灣區(GBA)的新政策和措施,於香港註冊的常用醫療器械可獲准應用於GBA城市中指定的港資醫療機構。儘管實施細節尚未出台,相信措施有助我們的產品在獲得國家藥品監督管理局正式產品註冊之前,在GBA市場率先實現商業化並建立知名度。

最後,2020年屬鼠年,即是十二生肖週期的新開始,標誌著NISI領導層的一個新時代。憑藉我們的技術,我們期待為世界帶來變革;變革會迎來挑戰,也帶來機遇;而機遇是成長、進步及改善不可或缺的因素。因此,我們要擁抱變革,攜著熱情、勇氣、同理心,走在產品上市的路途上,朝著目標邁進。

祝各位鼠年快樂,Go NISI and Embrace Change!

 

此致

黃自建
創始人及執行委員會主席

Letter from the Chairman of the Executive Committee

January 2020

Dear Friends, Colleagues and Stakeholders,

My eight years as the founding CEO of NISI have been a truly wonderful experience. Not only because I am constantly surrounded by exceptional and passionate colleagues, all of us devoting extensive time and making sacrifices for our dream, but because of what we have achieved together. It has been a challenge, but we have learned to come together as a team and we are realizing our vision of changing the world for the better. As we develop groundbreaking technologies that will revolutionize the medical device market and embrace change in our workplace, we are transforming NISI into a clinical phase company that will make a positive impact on the lives of many. I am proud to say that the results speak for themselves and these truly exceptional achievements belong to all of you. Congratulations!

Looking back…
2019 was an exciting and fruitful year with many important announcements and achievements. So far, NISI’s work has attracted a total of HK$58 million government funding for the support of our technological developments through the Innovative Technology Fund and Enterprise Support Scheme of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Innovative Technology Commission. I believe we are one of the first medical device companies in Hong Kong to secure such a vast sum from the government, which recognizes the importance of the work we are doing.

As we get closer to the start of product manufacturing, we have recently engaged two new senior staff members: Director of Product Engineering Sheldon Shen (ex-Medtronic) and Director of Sales & Marketing Tony Pascoe (ex-Olympus). Their expertise will be invaluable as we move towards manufacturing and commercialization of our products. We have also strengthened our Advisory Board with the addition of Cambridge University Professor Roberto Cipolla, a world-renowned expert in computer vision, machine learning and robotics, and Peking Union Medical College Hospital Professor Aiming Yang, a leading gastroenterologist and our clinical partner in China.

We were delighted at the beginning of 2019 to be accredited with ISO 13485 certification for design and manufacture of medical devices. Another major milestone to end 2019 was the completion of our first human feasibility study at Queen Mary Hospital with our clinical partner from the University of Hong Kong for the testing of a new robotic endoscopic device.

In August 2019, we adopted a new slogan, Go NISI and Embrace Change. This embodies the mindset of unwavering entrepreneurial spirit at NISI, allowing our people to unite, inspire one another and embrace the change we can achieve together. This slogan will continue into 2020 as it will remain vitally important that NISI stays competitive, innovative and relevant in the commercial world. Progress is impossible without change, which has motivated us to change one of our core values to ‘Energy’, giving the new acronym EPIC for our core values – Energy, Passion, Innovation and Commitment. The term epic is used to describe great achievements or events. At NISI, the belief that we are creating something great helps drive us forward. It is only when we can embrace changes and welcome new challenges that we are able to excel and reach our goals. Our EPIC core values symbolize just that and, in many ways, the future of surgical robotic technology.

Looking forward…
NISI has a big agenda for the coming year.

In 2020, we will move into the next stage of multi-center clinical trials for our robotic endoscopic device with eminent clinical collaborators in leading Chinese hospitals. This will allow us to take the next step forward on the regulatory pathway to product commercialization. Every step of this journey will be a very exciting and rewarding one that will require a great deal of work and commitment from Team NISI.

We also have another exciting product in the pipeline that ties in uniquely with our robotic endoscopy platform. We are currently verifying the design proof-of-concept prototype and will provide further information in the future.

Given the new policy and measures in the Greater Bay Area (GBA) that were announced by the Central Government in November 2019, Hong Kong registered common medical devices will be permitted to be used in designated Hong Kong-owned healthcare institutions in the region. While implementation details are yet to be finalized, we believe this would allow us to commercialize and promote product awareness in the GBA region before obtaining the official NMPA approval.

Finally, 2020 will see in the Year of the Rat, the start of a new cycle in the Chinese zodiac. It will also mark a new era of leadership at NISI. With our technology we want to change the world. Change brings challenges but also brings opportunities and it is essential for growth, progress and improvement. That is why we ask you all to embrace change. We are well on the way to the launch of our products. Let us advance toward that goal with enthusiasm, compassion and courage.

Happy New Year of the Rat and………Go NISI and Embrace Change!

 

Sincerely,

David T. Wong

Founder & Chairman of the Executive Committee