董事总经理兼行政总裁寄语

2019年2月

亲爱的朋友、同事及持份者:

恭喜发财!猪年进步!祝愿各位于新的一年迎来各种机遇、成就、欢乐,以及爱。

NISI令人振奋的成长

我们在产品开发方面取得了重大突破。于今年年底,我们即将公布的内窥镜产品「医视博」将会完成在香港的人体临床试验。借着我们的生产设施于明年完成,这项创新医疗产品按计划将于2020年在香港和2021年在中国市场全面上市。

于过去一年,我们的「医名俊」手术机器人系统成功完成了一系列的临床前试验,有望于数年内开展临床试验。我们亦宣布与英国剑桥大学展开全新的合作领域,开创可应用于手术机器人的人工智能系统,这项技术将为传统的手术程序带来范式转变,容许系统执行更复杂的外科手术,并提升其精确度和安全性。此外,我们获评选入GC Powerlist:2018年度香港团队,我们集团内部的创新、才能和卓越成就均获业界肯定。

Go NISI and Believe

我们以新口号“Go NISI and Believe” 昂首阔步迈向新的一年。我们相信我们的专利技术将成为医疗器械市场无创手术领域的新黄金标准。用户导向的设计融汇了多位知名外科医生的经验和专业见解,以跨越当前手术技术的局限。我们充满热情和务实的领导人,真诚地引领我们为外科手术的未来带来重大而有意义的改变。我们充满活力且来自不同领域的团队,将突破技术界限变革现今外科手术的程序。我们将持续改进并完善相关技术,锐意成为全球手术机器人领域其中的领导者。 我们梦想 是推动无创手术普及化,实现无创治疗。

NISI团队

2019年是NISI庆祝其成立7周年的纪念,年复一年我们的团队愈趋强大。过去的 2018年更是我们成就卓越的一年,在业务拓展方面,我们在香港和东莞办事处的雇员人数已超过100名。我们还见证了我们东莞无尘生产车间设施的开幕与营运,标志着我们在松山湖的第二个营运据点。

NISI是以人为本的企业。我们的核心来自一群拥有远大志向的人员 – NISI团队 – 为我们个人、家庭和外科医生们承建出惊人的瑰宝。我们作为NISI 「家族」的一员感到自豪,并且坚信每位成员将在未来日子与NISI继续共同成长。

社会责任与企业管治

我们的四个核心价值「创新、承担、热情、团结」 一直是我们企业文化的基础,我们期望成为一间注重关爱的企业。去年,我们推行了「企业行为准则」,该准则体现了我们在所有企业活动中坚守最高道德标准的承诺。我们亦制定了工作场所行为操守促进多元文化,让所有员工拥有平等机会、被包容、及不被歧视的积极工作环境。为此,公司成立了行为准则委员会、平等机会和多元化委员会,以监督相关政策上的实施情况,加强员工意识和排解纠纷。 NISI也成为首批签署香港平等机会委员会新制定「种族多元共融雇主约章」的公司之一。

我们还成立了董事执行委员会,负责NISI日常事务的管治和营运。该执行委员会由所有创始董事所组成,并负责NISI的融资筹备。我们正与数位有兴趣的投资者进行积极的讨论,期待于2019年第二季度完成这一轮融资。

创新

由我们承担和热情这两个核心价值所驱动,在开创自然腔道内窥镜机器人手术(NOTES)及其他无创外科技术取得惊人进展,致力使无创外科手术成为所有患者都能负担的革新性医疗技术。

去年,我们实现了另一项医学界的「首例」。 NISI与香港大学妇产科学系和外科学系在活猪动物试验中使用「医名俊」原型成功完成了经直肠腔道一系列的盆腔和妇科手术。这项创举在2018年8月数码港举行的新闻发布会上作宣布,我们很荣幸地邀请了香港特别行政区创新及科技局杨伟雄局长发表开幕致辞,我们的主席兼首席技术官杨重光教授还谈到了我们的「医名俊」系统将如何彻底变革外科手术,尤其是NOTES将如何实现外科医生和患者的无疤手术梦想–减轻外科手术带来的痛楚,提升术后的生活质量,造福人们。

我们也很高兴邀请英国剑桥大学战略与规划副校长兼NISI顾问委员会成员David Cardwell教授与我们签署合作协议,致力开发应用于医疗手术机器人的人工智能 系统,展开另一个非凡的旅程。人工智能近年来已经颠覆了整个科技界,至今已于许多行业中确立其重要用途。深度学习是一种使用非常巨大的神经网络来查找数据模式的技术,由于其强大的图像辨识能力,这技术已被迅速应用于医学研究和医疗诊断中。 David Cardwell教授与其团队,其中包括世界著名计算机视觉、机器学习和机器人技术专家Roberto Cipolla信息工程教授,无疑将引领我们进入一个令人鼓舞而富回报的新历程。

我们的工作也吸引了政府的关注和支持,并获香港特别行政区创新及科技基金通过企业支援计划批出最高资助额1,000万港元,以支持「医视博」系统的开发。虽然这些创新对我们来说是很令人振奋,但我们还有其他正在研发的产品,迫不及待与大家分享。

展望未来

2019将会是极具挑战性的一年,但我们希望对NISI团队来说是获得丰裕成果的一年,我们将开展临床试验并推进我们各科研开发、产品生产制造和市场战略部署。

我们透过解答以下问题来确立我们的品牌基因:我们作为一家企业代表什么?我们的使命是什么?我们独特之处是什么?当然,医疗领域的技术和创新也是其中重要的一环。但当我们与外科医生,患者,管理人员,政府代表,供应商和投资者讨论时反映我们企业所包含的意义并不止于此,他们认为我们受到更弘大目标所驱使– 要为每个人带来开创性的医疗科技。

可及性,创新和人才是驱使外界对我们企业的认同。新的一年将为我们团队带来更多契机和考验,凭借过去七年我们所建构并不断扩充的专业团队,我们已置于有利的基础上让企业得以持续蓬勃发展。我们奉献、热情、开放和富想像的精神,将使我们实现目标并出类拔萃为世界带来实质的改变。

我们正在开展更多工作,敬请拭目以待。 Go NISI and Believe!

此致

黄自建
创始人,董事总经理兼行政总裁

Letter from Managing Director & CEO

February 2019

Dear Friends, Colleagues and Stakeholders,

Kung Hei Fat Choy and Happy New Year of the Pig! May your year be filled with possibilities, success, cheer and love.

Excitement is Growing at NISI

We are making great progress in our product development. By the end of this year, we will have successfully completed human testing in Hong Kong of our soon-to-be announced endoscopy product, NISInspire. With our manufacturing facility due to be completed next year, this medical innovation will be commercially available in Hong Kong in 2020 and the Chinese market in 2021.

Last year, a series of successful pre-clinical trials using our robotic surgical system NISImagine were conducted with clinical trials to start in a few years’ time. We announced a new collaboration with the University of Cambridge to pioneer artificial intelligence for robotic surgical applications, which will be a paradigm shift to transform surgical procedures, allowing more complex surgeries to be performed and making them more precise and safe. In recognition of our in-house innovation, quality and excellence, we were also included in the GC Powerlist: Hong Kong Teams 2018.

Go NISI and Believe

We are kick-starting the Chinese New Year with our new slogan: “Go NISI and Believe”. We believe that our patented technologies will be the new gold standards in the field of non-invasive surgery in the medical device market. Our user-driven design leverages the experience and insights of respected surgeons to address the deficiencies of current surgical techniques. We have passionate and pragmatic leaders who genuinely believe that we can make a significant and meaningful change to the future of surgery, and we have a dynamic team with diverse backgrounds who will push the limits of technology to transform the current practice of surgery. We will continue to improve and refine these technologies in our quest to become global leaders in surgical robotics. Our dream is to revolutionize modern surgery by making non-invasive surgical procedures a commonplace reality. We envision a world where we can heal without causing harm.

Team NISI

NISI celebrates its 7th anniversary in 2019 and each year we build a bigger and stronger team. 2018 was another fruitful year with the number of employees in our Hong Kong and Dongguan offices exceeding 100 for the first time as part of our business expansion. We also saw the opening and operation of our cleanroom facilities in Dongguan, marking our second office location in Songshan Lake.

NISI is all about people. At the heart of this company is a great group of people – Team NISI – that is creating an incredible legacy for individuals, families and surgeons. We take pride in our NISI ‘family’, and are confident that every member will continue to grow with NISI for many years to come.

Social Responsibility & Corporate Governance

From the beginning, our four core values of Innovation, Commitment, Passion and Unity have formed the basis of our corporate culture. We also want to be recognised as a caring company. Last year we introduced a Corporate Code of Conduct, which enshrines our commitment to uphold the highest ethical standards in all our corporate activities, as well as a Workplace Behaviour Policy to promote a positive workplace environment with a strong culture of diversity, equal employment, inclusion and anti-discrimination for all employees. As a result, a Code of Conduct Committee and an Equal Opportunity and Diversity Committee were set up to oversee implementation of our respective policies in these areas, to provide opportunities to raise understanding and to address issues. NISI also became one of the first companies to sign on to the Hong Kong Equal Opportunities Commission’s new Racial Diversity and Inclusion Charter for Employers.

We also formed an Executive Committee of the Board, which manages day-to-day matters and operations of NISI. This Executive Committee comprises all the founding Directors and is also responsible for NISI’s next round of financing. We are conducting positive ongoing discussions with a number of strongly interested parties and expect to close this round of financing in the second quarter of 2019.

Innovation

Driven by our commitment and passion to revolutionize modern surgery by making non-invasive surgical procedures an affordable reality for all patients, we are making amazing progress in pioneering robotic natural orifice transluminal endoscopic surgery (NOTES) and other non-invasive surgical technologies.

Last year we achieved another medical ‘first’. NISI, together with the Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology and Department of Surgery of the University of Hong Kong, conducted a series of successful trans-rectal pelvic and gynaecological procedures using the NISImagine prototype in live pigs. This news was announced in August 2018 at a press conference held in Cyberport, where we were honoured to have Secretary Nicholas Yang from the Innovation and Technology Bureau of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region deliver the opening speech. Our Chairman and CTO Prof. Chung-Kwong Yeung also spoke about how our NISImagine system will revolutionize surgery and, in particular, how NOTES will make scarless surgery a dream come true for surgeons and patients – delivering less painful surgical procedures and improving quality of life for many.

We were also delighted to have Prof. David Cardwell, who is the Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Strategy and Planning at the University of Cambridge and our Advisory Board Member, join us to sign a collaboration to start another extraordinary journey, working on artificial intelligence in medical robotics. Artificial intelligence has upended the tech world in recent years and now seems poised to find important uses in many industries. Deep learning, a technique that uses very large neural networks to find patterns in data, has proven to be very powerful and is rapidly finding applications in medical research and healthcare. Prof. Cardwell and his team, including Prof. Roberto Cipolla who is a Professor of Information Engineering and a world-renowned expert in computer vision, machine learning and robotics, will no doubt lead us to some new, exciting and rewarding ventures.

Our work has also attracted the attention and support of government funding. NISI was approved for another maximum funding of HKD10 million under the Enterprise Support Scheme from the Innovation and Technology Fund of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to continue the development of NISInspire. While these innovations are exciting for all of us, we also have other products in the pipeline which we can’t wait to share with you.

Looking Ahead

2019 will be an enormously challenging and, we hope, very rewarding year for Team NISI as we start clinical trials and progress our R&D, manufacturing and go-to-market strategies.

We have plans to develop our brand DNA by addressing these questions: What do we represent as a company? Where are we going? How are we different? Of course, technology and innovation in the medical field are part of this. But we are so much more and that is what has been reflected to us when we discuss our company with surgeons, patients, administrators, governments, suppliers and investors. They see us as driven by a powerful purpose – to bring pioneering medical technology to everyone.

Accessibility, Innovation and People are what energises people about who we are as a company. The new year will bring many tests for all of us. With the great team that we have put together over the last seven years, and which we will continue to build this year, we are very strongly positioned to flourish. It is our dedication, passion, openness and imagination that will lead us to achieve our goals and to make a real difference.

We are working on a lot more, so watch this space. Go NISI and Believe!

Sincerely,

David T. Wong

Founder, Managing Director & CEO